Application Development: Internet Hall of Fame Inductees: How Their Contributions Impact Everyone (Part 1)

By Darryl K. Taft  |  Posted 2012-05-14 Print this article Print
The Hall

The Hall

On April 23, 2012, the Internet Society inducted Internet pioneers and luminaries from around the world into its inaugural Internet Hall of Fame. Recognizing Internet leaders from nine different countries, including one Nobel Prize Winner, one Royal Knight and two Presidential Medal of Freedom recipients, the Internet Hall of Fame is an annual awards program that has been established by the Internet Society to publicly recognize a distinguished and select group of leaders and luminaries who have made significant contributions to the development and advancement of the global Internet in three categories: Pioneers, Innovators and Connectors. This slideshow, the first in a series of two, shows the 2012 inductees into the Pioneers Circle category. Group photo of 17 inductees taken at Internet Society's annual Global INET event in Geneva, Switzerland, where the first-ever Internet Hall of Fame winners were announced. Back Row, left to right: Brewster Kahle, Daniel Karrenberg, Randy Bush, Vint Cerf, Philip Zimmermann and Tan Tin Wee.Front Row, left to right: Nancy Hafkin, John Klensin, Kilnam Chon, Elizabeth Feinler, Leonard Kleinrock, Lawrence Roberts, Steve Crocker, Raymond Tomlinson, Larry Landweber, Mitchell Baker and Toru Takahashi. Photo credit: Stonehouse Photographic/Internet Society
Launched almost 20 years ago by Vint Cerf and Bob Kahn, two of the founding fathers of the Internet, along with others, the Internet Society has the mission to keep this unique network open and free. Today, that mission is under unprecedented pressure from powerful political, corporate and social forces that want to shape the Internet for their own agendas. The Stop Online Piracy Act (SOPA), the Protect IP Act (PIPA) and global censorship activities are just the tip of the iceberg. There are many attempts to forever change the face of the Internet as we know it today. Considered the world's trusted independent source of leadership in Internet issues, the Internet Society, which commemorated its 20th anniversary with its first major global event last month, Global INET, provided technical advice on policy discussions and helped shape the Internet as we know it today. The organization is also home to the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF), an organization made up of engineers who produce Internet standards, related to TCP/IP, which has formed the basis of communications protocols on the Internet and the World Wide Web since their inception. For example, the IETF developed Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) to replace IPv4 addresses, which are expected to run out in the near term. In addition, during the recent SOPA debate, the Internet Society acted as a resource to the general public in providing guidance about the technical implications of Domain Name System (DNS) filtering and other technological stipulations included in the proposed legislation. Here, in two parts, eWEEK takes a look at the first-ever Internet Hall of Fame Inductees. Since there are 33 inductees this year, eWEEK broke down the group into several different categories: Pioneers Circle, which recognizes individuals who were instrumental in the early design and development of the Internet; Innovators, which represents individuals who made outstanding technological, commercial or policy advances and helped to expand the Internet's reach; and Global Connectors, who are individuals from around the world who have made significant contributions to the global growth and use of the Internet.
Darryl K. Taft covers the development tools and developer-related issues beat from his office in Baltimore. He has more than 10 years of experience in the business and is always looking for the next scoop. Taft is a member of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and was named 'one of the most active middleware reporters in the world' by The Middleware Co. He also has his own card in the 'Who's Who in Enterprise Java' deck.

Submit a Comment

Loading Comments...
Manage your Newsletters: Login   Register My Newsletters

Rocket Fuel