HP Releases Multi-level Security Services for RHEL5

By Steven Vaughan-Nichols  |  Posted 2007-11-01 Print this article Print

HP has just released new multi-level security services for Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5.

There is security, and then there is Security. HP, with its new multi-level security services for Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5 is now offering Common Criteria certified level security for this Linux on its server and desktops. Common Criteria is an ISO security framework standard. It is frequently required in government computing contracts. It is also, historically, difficult for open-source software to obtain, as described briefly in "Free-Libre/Open Source Software (FLOSS) and Software Assurance" (PDF Link) by David A. Wheeler, an author and software developer.
Erik Lillestolen, HP's government program manager for the open-source & Linux organization, hopes that these new offerings will help get not just HP computers, but Red Hat Linux as well into secure federal government offices. The new services include five support services. Support options include long-term support, MLS solution on-site training, MLS solutions design, implementation and validation, MLS Support and Standard Support with level 1 and level 2 care pack. All of these are provided by Hewlett-Packard. Red Hat, in turn, supports HP, but for a customer there's only, as the saying goes, "one throat to choke" in case there's a problem, and that throat is HP's. Read the full story on Linux-Watch.com: HP Releases Multi-level Security Services for RHEL5
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols is editor at large for Ziff Davis Enterprise. Prior to becoming a technology journalist, Vaughan-Nichols worked at NASA and the Department of Defense on numerous major technological projects. Since then, he's focused on covering the technology and business issues that make a real difference to the people in the industry.

Submit a Comment

Loading Comments...
Manage your Newsletters: Login   Register My Newsletters

Rocket Fuel