eWEEK Labs Beat List

Lab Director: John Taschek (john_taschek@ziffdavis.com)
Technical Director: Jim Rapoza (jim_rapoza@ziffdavis.com)
Technical Director: Timothy Dyck (timothy_dyck@ziffdavis.com)
Executive Editor: Deb Donston (debra_donston@ziffdavis.com)
Managing Editor: Mary Stevens (mary_stevens@ziffdavis.com)

Henry Baltazar - henry_baltazar@ziffdavis.com– SF -- (415) 547-8221

Summary: storage, groupware

  • High-availability and fault tolerance technologies
  • Knowledge Management, Groupware, and Collaboration
  • Security
  • Storage (SANs, NAS, etc.)
  • Storage Management
  • Clustering

Jason Brooks – jason_brooks@ziffdavis.com – San Francisco, (415) 547-8222

Summary: mobility and operating systems

  • Operating systems (desktop and server)
  • Client peripherals
  • Desktop PCs
  • Desktop productivity software
  • Desktop system utilities
  • Embedded CPUs and OSes
  • Clustering (Henry is primary)
  • Notebooks and portable computing
  • PDAs and other handheld devices
  • Wireless
  • Wireless clients

Francis Chu--francis_chu@ziffdavis.com – San Francisco, (415) 547-8223

Summary: Network Software and Hardware Infrastructure

  • Anti-virus
  • Backup
  • Collaboration software
  • Firewalls
  • Intrusion Detection
  • Security
  • Servers
  • Storage (SANs, NAS, etc.) (Henry is primary)
  • UPS
  • Videoconferencing

Peter Coffee – peter_coffee@ziffdavis.com – Torrance – (310) 371-8096

Summary: Academic research, processors, and development environments

  • Processors
  • Development Tools

Timothy Dyck -- timothy_dyck@ziffdavis.com – Canada – (519) 746-4241

Summary: databases, application servers, wireless, WAP and mobile development tools

  • Application servers and object brokers
  • Database servers
  • Middleware
  • Security
  • Transaction monitors and message queuing
  • Web development tools
  • Wireless development tools
  • XML and Web services

Jim Rapoza – jim_rapoza@ziffdavis.com – Woburn – (781) 938-2652

Summary: internet standards and applications

  • Browsers
  • Encryption/PKI in E-commerce (Backup)
  • Hacking tools
  • Portals/knowledge and document management
  • Streaming media
  • Web authoring and development tools
  • Web Servers
  • Web standards
  • Workflow
  • Workflow/Document Management

Cameron Sturdevant -- cameron_sturdevant@ziffdavis.com – (415) 547-8224

Summary: management and security

  • Authentication, Authorization, Access
  • Desktop Management (SNMP, CIM, WBEM)
  • Encryption/PKI
  • Enterprise and Networking topics
  • Management platforms
  • Network & protocol analyzers
  • Networking
  • Remote management
  • Security protocols
  • Software distribution
  • Website monitoring and performance analysis

John Taschek -- john_taschek@ziffdavis.com – San Francisco, (415) 547-8225

Summary: Business applications

  • Business processes (UBL, BEPL, etc)
  • CRM
  • Packaged Applications
  • Sales Force Automation