Google Gmail Users Get Alert if Accounts Compromised

執筆者
Brian Prince
Brian Prince
Published: Mar 24, 2010
Updated: Feb 2, 2021
2 minute read
eWeek のコンテンツおよび製品のおすすめは、編集上の独立性を保っています。パートナーへのリンクをクリックすると、当社が報酬を得る場合があります。 詳細を見る

Google is adding a new alert system to Gmail to warn users if their account may have been compromised.

The feature is being rolled out today and is meant to offer users an additional layer of protection for Gmail users via an automated system that flags suspicious activity and generates a red alert.

“It will be a sort of a bright red message that will say ‘warning (we believe) your account was recently accessed from’ and then a geographic location and a button to click to see recent accesses of the account with information about them like…what was the IP it came from, when did it happen, where in the world do we think they were from (and) highlighting in red the ones that were bad or suspicious to us,” explained Will Cathcart, product manager at Google, in an interview with eWEEK.

The alert system builds on Google’s decision in 2008 to provide users with information about their account activity, such as the IP addresses of logins and the time of day the account was accessed. These factors and others will now be used as the basis to determine whether unauthorized access could be taking place and the legitimate user should be notified.

“While we don’t have the capability to determine the specific location from which an account is accessed, a login appearing to come from one country and occurring a few hours after a login from another country may trigger an alert,” blogged Google Engineering Director Pavni Diwanji.

To ensure an attacker doesn’t simply delete the message, Cathcart said Google has set the system up so that only the legitimate owner of the account receives the alert and any attempt to turn the alert off takes seven days to go into effect.

“Part of the alert is to push the user to articles about what we recommend they do, concrete steps they can take, including things we would encourage them not to do next time – don’t use your (same) password on other sites, make sure to check your computer for malware, those kinds of things,” he said.

The decision by Google follows a move earlier this year to turn on HTTPS by default for Gmail users, as well as the high-profile Aurora attack in which the company said hackers tried to gain access to the Gmail accounts of Chinese human rights activists.

Brian Prince

Brian Prince

Content Writer
eWeek Logo

eWeek has the latest technology news and analysis, buying guides, and product reviews for IT professionals and technology buyers. The site's focus is on innovative solutions and covering in-depth technical content. eWeek stays on the cutting edge of technology news and IT trends through interviews and expert analysis. Gain insight from top innovators and thought leaders in the fields of IT, business, enterprise software, startups, and more.

TechnologyAdvice が所有・運営しています。 © 2026 TechnologyAdvice. 無断転載を禁じます

広告主に関する開示:このサイトに掲載されている製品の一部は、TechnologyAdvice が報酬を受け取っている企業のものです。この報酬は、製品がこのサイトのどこにどのように表示されるか(表示される順序など)に影響する場合があります。TechnologyAdvice は、市場で入手可能なすべての企業やすべての種類の製品を掲載しているわけではありません。