Page 2

By David Chernicoff  |  Posted 2004-09-21 Print this article Print

Initially, the EGA has started up five working groups to begin the standards building process:
  • The Reference Model working group is developing a taxonomy for grid computing that they hope will eventually be used as the baseline for defining the grid computing model.
  • The Component Provisioning working group is tasked with developing open standards for application provision in grid computing models.
  • The Data Provisioning working group has a similar charge: to develop open standards for data and database provisioning plus the requirement to evaluate existing data standards and determine how they will fit in the grid computing model.
  • The Utility Accounting working group gets the least glamorous, but possibly most important task: to determine a standardized way to bill for grid usage. They are evaluating existing models for billing and their applicability to the grid model (this group could be a big part of the reason that Citrix is involved with the EGA).
  • Last, the Grid Security working group is tasked with determining potential security problems that the introduction of grid computing can bring to an organization and with determining how existing security techniques and technologies can be applied to these potential problems. Whether or not groups like the EGA will be successful has yet to be seen, but at least this particular group has made the commitment to keep the user community involved in the process. If you are planning on making use of utility computing in your enterprise, it should be worth the few minutes it will take to sign up for their user community and, at the very least, read their e-mail newsletter. Check out eWEEK.coms Utility Computing Center for the latest utility computing news, reviews and analysis.


    Submit a Comment

    Loading Comments...
    Manage your Newsletters: Login   Register My Newsletters

    Rocket Fuel